Lot 118

b. Indonesia, 1924 - d. Kuala Lumpur, 1995


Signed and dated 'HOESSEIN 1950' (lower right), Inscribed in reverse
Oil on canvas
62cm x 50cm

Private Collection, Australia.

ESTIMATE  RM 40,000 - 60,000


Sourced from a private collection in Australia, this exquisite river scene by Dato’ Hoessein Enas illustrates a couple of men on a sampan in the act of fishing along the Malacca river. The modern shop houses in the background suggest the urban development of Malacca at the time. Known as the foremost figurative painter in Malaysia, Dato’s Hoessein Enas’ depictions of landscape are testament for his multifaceted painterly skills. Executed in a rustic palette commonly employed by the Nanyang-style artists of his time, its coarse marks create texture on the portrait-orientation landscape painting.

Dato’ Mohd. Hoessein Enas co-founded Angkatan Seni Rupa Indonesia in Medan and was its first president in 1944. He moved to Penang in 1948 and later to Kuala Lumpur when Frank Sullivan spotted him painting at Ayer Itam Temple. He received citizenship by the Federation of Malaya in 1956 and in the same year, he became the founder of Angkatan Pelukis Semenanjung (later SeMalaysia) in 1956 that he led until 1964. He was granted a UNESCO Fellowship and an Asia Foundation Grant in 1960, which allowed him a year of worldwide study tour to observe various countries’ development in art. Other grants included United States Fellowship (1968) and Colombo Plan Award (1968, 1976). He held his first solo exhibition at Charniel Gallery in Chelsea, London in 1960 and was honoured with a retrospective exhibition by National Art Gallery, Kuala Lumpur in 1966. He became a member of board for the National Art Gallery in Kuala Lumpur from 1980 to 1989 and was conferred with the title of Royal Portrait Painter by His Majesty, the Sultan of Selangor in 1990. He received the title ‘Dato’ by the Sultan of Selangor the following year.

Pioneer Artists of Malaysia: Paintings of Pioneer Artists from Private Collections, Dr. Tan Chee Khuan, 1992.